Judges of Delaware County Succeeded by Delaware Circuit Court Compiled by Linda Ralu Wolf

As of September 1, 2023

From History of Delaware County by G.W.H. Kemper, Found at the Muncie Public Library, Delaware County Judges archive and other sources noted below

Delaware County in the state of Indiana was established by act of Indiana General Assembly on January 26, 1827 (effective April 1, 1827 which was a Sunday). An election was held Monday, April 2, 1827. John Rees and Lewis Rees were elected associate judges.

Γ ,							J		
1827 –	1829	Miles C	. Eggleston	with the	assistance	of John	Rees and L	ewis Rees.	see above

1836 - 1838 S	Samuel Bigger
---------------	---------------

1870.	– 1872	Joshua	Н	Mella	١tح
10/U	- 1072	JOSHUA		IVICII	71.L

1873	John J. Cheney
	Silas Colgrove

1874 – 1878 Silas Colgrove

1879 – 1885 L. J. Monks

1885 – 1892 O. J. Lotz

(The 46th Judicial Circuit consisting of Delaware County was formed by the legislature early in 1885. O. J. Lotz, the defeated candidate the previous fall for Judge of the 25th Circuit, was appointed judge of the 46th Circuit by the governor.)

Circuit Court Judges of Delaware Circuit Court (continued)

1893 - 1898 George H. Koons

1898 - 1910 Joseph Grant Leffler

Further research indicates the following:

1911 - 1916 Frank Ellis

November 17, 1916 - November 15, 1922 William A. Thompson

November 15, 1922 - 1929 Clarence W. Dearth

1929 – 1940 Leonidas Guthrie

1941- 1946 Clarence Higi

1947 – 1952 Joseph H. Davis

1953 – 1958 Paul Leffler

1959 – 1982 Alva Cox

1983 – 2002 Steven Caldemeyer

2002 – 2022 Marianne Lafferty Vorhees

2023 - Judi L. Calhoun

Compiled from the vertical files and court records in the Muncie Public Library and further research in the local newspapers, namely, *The Muncie Star*, *The Muncie Evening Press*, and *The Muncie Star Press*.

Linda Ralu Wolf, August, 2023

DELAWARE SUPERIOR COURT NO. 1 SUCCEEDED BY DELAWARE CIRCUIT COURT NO. 3

1909 – 1911	Patrick H. Elliott
1911 – 1919	Robert M. VanAtta
1919 – 1935	Robert F. Murray
1935 – 1943	Claude C. Ball
1943 – 1959	Paul A. Lennington
1959 – 1966	Corbett McClellan
1967 – 1970	George S. Koons
1971 – 1978	Mario Pieroni
1979 – 2008	Robert L. Barnet, Jr.
2009 - August 31, 2023	Linda Ralu Wolf (her retirement)
September 1, 2023 -	Douglas K. Mawhorr (Appointed by Gov. Eric Holcomb)

Compiled from the vertical files and court records in the Muncie Public Library and further research in the local newspapers, namely, *The Muncie Star*, *The Muncie Evening Press*, and *The Muncie Star Press*.

Linda Ralu Wolf, August, 2023

JUDGES OF DELAWARE SUPERIOR COURT NO. 2 SUCCEEDED BY DELAWARE CIRCUIT COURT NO. 2 JUNE 30, 2000

1959 – 1975 Ralph Rector

1976 – 1982 Steven R. Caldemeyer

1983 - October 15, 2011 Richard A. Dailey

Late 2011 through 2012 Alan K. Wilson

(Appointed by Gov. Mitch Daniels)

2013 - Kimberly S. Dowling

Compiled from the vertical files and court records in the Muncie Public Library and further research in the local newspapers, namely, *The Muncie Star*, *The Muncie Evening Press*, and *The Muncie Star Press*.

Linda Ralu Wolf, August, 2023

DELAWARE COUNTY COURT NO. 1

DELAWARE SUPERIOR COURT NO. 3 (June 30, 1983 through June 30, 2000) DELAWARE CIRCUIT COURT NO. 4 (July 1, 2000 to present)

January 1, 1976 – 1980 Jerry Baumgartner

(Appointed by Judge Alva Cox,

Delaware Circuit Court)

July, 1980 – June 8, 1995 Betty Shelton Cole

(her retirement) (Appointed by Gov. Otis Bowen)

June 9, 1995 - successor's appointment Jack O'Neill

(Appointed Judge Pro Tempore by

Indiana Supreme Court)

1995 – December 31, 1996 Barbara Gasper Hines

(Appointed by Gov. Evan Bayh)

1997 – July 3, 1998 A.J. Hall

(his death)

August, 1998 – December 31, 2002 James J. Jordan

(Appointed by Gov. Frank O'Bannon)

2003 - John M. Feick

Compiled from the vertical files and court records in the Muncie Public Library and further research in the local newspapers, namely, *The Muncie Star*, *The Muncie Evening Press*, and *The Muncie Star Press*.

Linda Ralu Wolf, August, 2023

DELAWARE COUNTY COURT NO. 2

DELAWARE SUPERIOR COURT NO. 4 (June 30, 1983 to July 1, 2000) **DELAWARE CIRCUIT COURT NO. 5 (July 1, 2000 to present)**

January 1, 1976 to December 31, 1976 Steven R. Caldemeyer

(Appointed by Judge Alva Cox,

Delaware Circuit Court)

1977 - 1982Richard A. Dailey

Robert Robinson -1983 - 1996

(Appointed by Gov. Robert Orr)

1997 – February 24, 1998 Joseph G. Edwards

> Suspended June 27, 1997 Resigned 02/24/1998

July, 1997 – September, 1997 Thomas McNichols, Jr.

> (Judge Pro Tempore Appointed By Indiana Supreme Court

September, 1997 – August, 1998 Betty Shelton Cole

(Acting Judge by Indiana Supreme Ct.)

August, 1998 – April, 2008 Wayne Lennington

(Appointed by Gov. Frank 'Bannon)

May 16, 2008 – December 31, 2008 Chris Teagle

(Appointed by Gov. Mitch Daniels)

2009 -Thomas A. Cannon Jr.

Compiled from the vertical files and court records in the Muncie Public Library and further research in the local newspapers, namely, The Muncie Star, The Muncie Evening Press, and The Muncie Star Press. Linda Ralu Wolf, August, 2023